高精度电能质量分析仪

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪可以根据IEC61000-4-30 Class A标准测量所有电能质量参数。与其他电能质量仪器相比,我们的电能质量分析仪能够进行更详细的电能质量分析、原始数据存储、故障诊断、附加参数计算等。

电压
电压
高压
高压
电流
电流
速度
速度
扭矩
扭矩
转速
转速
视频
视频
高速视频
高速视频
热成像视频
热成像视频
数字 IO
数字 IO
CAN 总线
CAN 总线
XCP/CCP
XCP/CCP
FlexRay
FlexRay
OBDII
OBDII
J1939
J1939
GPS/GLONASS
GPS/GLONASS

主要特点

  • 谐波高达150kHz 在高达150kHz的频率下测量和分析谐波电压、电流和总谐波失真(THD)。所有测量均根据IEC-61000-4-7标准进行。
  • THD计算: 高达3000阶谐波电压和电流的THD(总谐波含量)计算。
  • 间谐波和超高次谐波: 测量和分析间谐波和超高次谐波。超高次谐波分析分为200 Hz频段和2K频段,可达150 kHz。
  • 闪变、虚拟电网和电压穿越RVCs: 根据IEC-61400-4-15和IEC-61400-21标准自动计算闪变和虚拟电网参数。
  • 丰富的实时显示界面: 快速、可定制的视觉显示控件可用于FFT、谐波FFT、3DFFT(瀑布图),并具有实时视觉反馈,使该解决方案成为出色的电能质量监控器。
  • 高速原始数据存储: 硬件和软件提供了强大的存储引擎,其连续流速率超过每秒500MB。无论如何,原始数据始终被存储。这是为了确保离线后处理能够在需要时无缝运行。
  • 高性能在线和离线数学计算: Dewesoft X数据采集软件提供了易于使用的数学引擎。数学运算可以在测量过程中实时应用,也可以在后处理中添加。
  • 快速回放数据: 数据文件即使是千兆字节,也可以在几秒钟内打开并查看。
  • 多通道数解决方案: 我们提供多通道数的数据采集系统配置,其中包括基于网络对数千个通道以及用于现场使用的更紧凑便携式电能质量分析仪进行配置。
  • 没有隐藏成本的软件许可: 我们的软件许可非常灵活,没有续订或升级费用。 Dewesoft X数据采集软件的升级是永久免费的。您也不需要任何其他许可证即可查看/分析数据。数据文件一旦存储,就可以在无限制的计算机上进行查看和分析,而无需其他软件许可证。

电能质量概述

不同的电能质量参数描述了在特定频率下电压与其理想正弦波形的偏差。这些偏差会导致干扰、短路、较低的功率因数或导致连接到电网的电气设备的损坏。

长期跟踪这些参数非常重要:从(电气设备的)开发阶段开始,一直到实际运行以及之后维护:连续监测电网中的几个点,以防止和纠正电能质量干扰。

Dewesoft解决方案可以依据IEC61000-4-30 Class A标准计算和分析。与传统的电能质量分析仪相比,可以进行更详细的分析(例如原始数据存储、故障行为、其他参数的计算等)。

电能质量概述

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪亮点

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪是一种非常灵活的数据采集系统解决方案,它将功率分析仪和电能记录仪以及其他多种测量仪器组合到一个设备中。这在对于测量过程中具有多个优点:

  • 数据同步: 数据完全同步并兼容以进行比较。
  • 原始数据记录: 原始数据始终被存储,因此可以在后期处理中随时进行分析。
  • 使用方便 : 可以执行所有测量和分析任务的直观软件,这意味着学习曲线要​​容易得多。
  • 低成本: 可以测量和分析通常需要多个仪器的功率参数的单个仪器将节省空间、时间和金钱。


所有这些结合在一起,使Dewesoft电能质量分析仪成为必不可少的设备,可以作为能够进行以下测量的多面手:

  • 谐波和THD高达150 kHz
  • 间谐波和超高次谐波
  • 闪变、 虚拟电网、电压穿越RVCs
  • FFT,谐波FFT,瀑布FFT
  • 对称分量
Dewesoft电能质量分析仪亮点

电能质量标准概述

我们的电能质量分析仪满足电能质量标准的所有要求,可用于各种测试应用中。下表总结了支持的电能质量标准:

IEC 61000-4-30
IEC 61000-4-7
IEC 61000-4-15

电能质量分析仪,谐波计算,闪变等的要求

EN 50160
EN 50163
IEEE-519
IEC 61000-2-4  etc.

公共电网,工业和轨道交通应用的电能质量限制。

IEC 61400-21
IEC 61400-12
FGW-TR3
BDEW
VDE-AR4105 etc.

可再生能源的电能质量分析。

IEC 61000-3-3
IEC 61000-3-11

电压变化和闪变的电磁兼容性(EMC)。

IEC 61000-3-2 IEC 61000-3-12

谐波电流的电磁兼容性(EMC)。


电能质量标准概述

FFT谐波分析

谐波是基频(例如50 Hz)的整数倍,会导致原始波形的电压和电流失真。非正弦负载引起的谐波电压和电流会影响电气设备的运行和使用寿命。

电动机和发电机中的谐波频率会导致热量增加(铁和铜的损耗),影响扭矩(脉动或减小的扭矩),产生机械振荡以及较高的听觉噪声,从而导致轴,绝缘组件和机械零件的老化并降低效率。

变压器中的电流谐波会增加铜和杂散磁通损耗。电流谐波会增加铁损。损耗与频率成正比,因此,高频谐波分量比低频分量更重要。谐波也会引起振动和更高的噪声。其他电气设备和装置的影响非常相似,主要是效率和寿命降低,发热,故障甚至是不可预测动作的出现。

谐波,间谐波和总谐波失真

Dewesoft解决方案可以测量谐波,电压,电流以及高达3000阶的附加有功和无功功率。所有计算均根据IEC 61000-4-7标准进行。

您可以定义用于谐波阶数计算的边带和半带的数量。较高的频率部分可以分为200 Hz频段,150 kHz。

计算 THD (总谐波含量) 电压和电流高达3000阶,并且间谐波完成了分析功能。

这些强大的谐波计算功能可对所有类型的电气设备和装置进行分析。

谐波计算

  • U,I,P,Q和阻抗

  • 单独设置包括直流分量在内的谐波数量(例如:20 kHz采样率= 200谐波@ 50 Hz)

  • 谐波高达3000次(@ 50 Hz)

  • 谐波的可变边带和半边带

  • 在200 Hz频段内高达150 kHz的更高频率

  • 间谐波,组或单个值

  • 符合EN 61000-4-7

  • 计算已校正为实际实际频率

  • THD,THD偶数,THD奇数

  • 每个参数可以触发

  • 消除背景谐波

FFT谐波分析

全FFT频谱分析

除了FFT谐波,还提供了基于频率的全FFT频谱分析。 可以使用此功能分析所有频率并提供可自定义的滤波器:

  • 汉宁窗
  • 汉明窗
  • 平顶窗
  • 矩形窗
  • 等等


您可以找到有关Dewesoft FFT分析仪的更多信息:

全FFT频谱分析

FFT瀑布图分析

除了FFT和谐波FFT分析,电能质量分析仪还提供2D和3D FFT瀑布分析选项。

这种类型的数据可视化对变频器的分析特别有用。例如,观察逆变器的启动情况,可以清楚地看到随着频率的增加,谐波边带是如何产生的。该图显示了从0到150Hz的牵引传动逆变器的启动。

FFT瀑布图可视显示可以是线性或对数,2D或3D,并按谐波阶次或频率排序。

FFT瀑布图分析
FFT瀑布图分析

闪变测试和虚拟电网

闪变是一个术语,用于描述两个稳态条件之间的RMS电压波动(重复变化)。闪烁的灯泡是高闪烁曝光的指示器。特别是在具有低短路电阻的电网中闪变经常出现,另外闪变出现经常是由于频繁连接和断开(例如热泵,轧机等)设备而影响电压负载从而引起的。

高度闪烁被认为对心理有刺激性,可能对人体有害。

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪提供以下功能来进行闪变测量:

  • 根据IEC 61000-4-15标准测量所有闪烁参数。
  • 根据IEC 61400-21标准计算虚拟电网,并可以进行由风力发电厂或其他发电机组引起闪变能量向电网释放评估。
  • 短时闪变和长时闪变计算间隔灵活。
  • 重新计算间隔独立设置。
  • Pinst, dU, dUmax, dUduration
闪变测试和虚拟电网

快速电压变化

快速电压变化 (RVCs) 是作为闪变标准的补充而添加的参数。 Dewesoft X数据采集软件根据IEC 61000-4-15标准计算这些参数。

快速电压变化描述了在一定时间间隔内两个稳态电压之间超过3%的任何电压波动的幅值变化。这些电压变化可以在后期处理中使用各种参数进行分析:

  • 电压变化的深度
  • du, dmax, duduration,
  • 稳态偏差
  • 等等
快速电压变化

不平衡-对称分量

平衡系统在电压和电流之间具有120°的相移,并且电压和电流分别具有相同的幅值。当三相系统的负载不均匀且相位和幅值不再相关时,就会发生不平衡。

为了分析不平衡系统,需要使用对称分量计算方法。该方法将原始的不平衡三相电源系统分为正系统(与原始系统类似的旋转),负系统(向反方向旋转)和零系统。

不平衡的系统可能会导致电流在中性线中流动,电气组件过热、机械应力、振动增加、转矩脉动、低电能质量以及能量损失等。

Dewesoft的电能质量分析仪可以测量50多个参数,以对不平衡系统进行全面分析。这些参数包括电压、电流、有功、无功、视在功率以及谐波的各种计算。

不平衡-对称分量
不平衡-对称分量

频率偏差

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪可用于开发阶段发电机组的频率行为进行频率监控和测试(请参阅可再生能源测试)。

公共电网中基频高频偏差可能会造成严重后果。如果频率下降或上升过多,整个电力系统可能会崩溃从而导致停电。

电网的频率偏差是由发电厂的连接和断开或大负载引起的。如果电网运行的标称频率存在偏差,则电网将变得不稳定。如果频率太高,则由于功率过剩而导致电网中可以使用的功率过多。如果频率太低,则由于功率不足,电网中可以使用的功率太少。随着可再生能源的发展,尤其是风能和太阳能的普及,电网稳定性面临的风险比以往任何时候都更大。这是由于以下原因:风并不总是以恒定的速度吹动,并且太阳能量会受到云、阴影和辐射强度波动的影响。这导致向电网输送功率的频率会出现突然偏差。

频率偏差

FAQ

什么是电能质量?

不同的电能质量参数描述了在特定频率下电压与其理想正弦波形的偏差。这些偏差会导致连接到电网的电气设备的干扰,中断或损坏。电能质量关注的主要参数是:谐波,电气系统不平衡,闪变,电压变化,电压峰值,瞬态记录和频率动作。

Dewesoft电能质量分析仪会测量什么?

Dewesoft 电能质量分析仪可以根据IEC 61000-4-30 A类标准测量所有这些参数。与传统的电能质量分析仪相比,可以进行更详细的分析(例如原始数据存储,故障行为,其他参数的计算等)。

什么是谐波?<br>

谐波是基频的整数倍(例如,电网为50 Hz),并且会导致原始正弦波形的电压和电流失真。非正弦负载引起的谐波电压和电流会影响电气设备的运行和寿命。电动机和发电机中的谐波频率会增加热量(铁和铜的损耗),会影响扭矩(脉动或减小的扭矩),会产生机械振动,并产生较高的听觉噪声,还会导致轴,绝缘部件和机械零件的老化并降低电机的效率。

什么是总谐波失真(THD)?<br>

术语THD代表所有谐波分量的总和的有效值到指定阶数的比值与基本分量的有效值之比。通常,它定义为相对于基频的所有谐波之和。电压和电流的总谐波失真(THD)最多可以计算到3000次。谐波的最重要来源是由转换器(二极管,晶闸管,晶体管)控制的负载。

什么是总谐波电流(THC)和什么电流总需求失真(TDD)?<br>

总谐波电流(THC)是导致电流波形失真的2到40阶的累积电流,电流总需求失真(TDD)定义为总谐波失真的均方根值之比谐波电流乘以最大需求负载电流乘以100得到的百分比值。

什么是闪变?<br>

闪变是一个术语,用于描述两个稳态条件之间的RMS电压波动(重复变化)。闪烁的灯泡是高闪烁曝光的指示器。特别是在具有低短路电阻的电网中闪变经常出现,另外闪变出现经常是由于频繁连接和断开(例如热泵,轧机等)设备而影响电压负载从而引起的。

什么是快速电压变化?<br>

快速电压变化描述了在一定时间间隔内两个稳态电压之间超过3%的任何电压波动的幅值变化。随后可以使用不同的参数(电压变化的深度,持续时间,稳态偏差等)分析这些电压变化。

相关产品

联系我们

谢谢您联络我们。我们的技术人员将尽快与您联系。

High-precision Power Quality Analyzer and Meter

The Dewesoft power quality analyzer can measure all the power quality parameters according to IEC 61000-4-30 Class A. In comparison to other power quality meters ours are able to do more detailed power quality analysis. Raw data storing, behavior at faults, calculation of additional parameters, etc.

Voltage
Voltage
High Voltage
High Voltage
Current
Current
Velocity
Velocity
Torque
Torque
RPM
RPM
Video
Video
High-speed video
High-speed video
Thermal video
Thermal video
Digital IO
Digital IO
CAN bus
CAN bus
XCP/CCP
XCP/CCP
FlexRay
FlexRay
OBDII
OBDII
J1939
J1939
GPS/GLONASS
GPS/GLONASS

Main Features

  • HARMONICS UP TO 150 kHz: Measure and analyze harmonics for voltage, current, and total harmonic distortion (THD) with frequencies up to 150 kHz. All measurements are carried out according to the IEC-61000-4-7 standards.
  • THD CALCULATION: The calculation of THD (overall harmonic content) for voltage and current up to the 3000th order.
  • INTERHARMONICS & HIGHER FREQUENCIES: Measure and analyze interharmonics and higher frequencies. The higher frequency elements can be grouped in 200 Hz bands up to 150 kHz.
  • FLICKER, FLICKER EMISSIONS & RVCs: Automatic flicker and flicker emission parameters calculation according to the IEC-61400-4-15 and IEC-61400-21 standards.
  • GREAT REAL-TIME VISUALS: Fast and customizable visual displays are available for FFT, Harmonic FFT, Waterfall FFT with real-time visual feedback making this solution a great power quality monitor.
  • HIGH-SPEED RAW DATA STORING: Hardware and software provide a powerful storing engine with a continuous stream rate of more than 500 MB per second. Raw data is always stored no matter what. This is to ensure that offline post-processing functions seamlessly whenever it is needed.
  • ADVANCED ONLINE AND OFFLINE MATH PROCESSING: Dewesoft X data acquisition software offers an easy-to-use mathematics engine. Math can be applied in real-time during measurement or added in post-processing. 
  • FAST REVIEW OF DATA: Datafiles, even if they are gigabytes large, can be opened and reviewed in mere seconds.
  • HIGH-CHANNEL COUNT SOLUTIONS: We offer large channel count DAQ system configurations with thousands of channels using network configuration as well as more compact portable power quality analyzers for field use.
  • NO HIDDEN COST SOFTWARE LICENSING: Our software licensing is very flexible and has no renewal or upgrade fees. Upgrades for Dewesoft X DAQ software are FREE forever. You also don't require any additional license to view/analyze the data. Once the data file is stored it can be reviewed and analyzed on unlimited computers without the need for additional software licenses.

Power Quality Overview

The different power quality parameters describe the deviation of the voltage from its ideal sinusoidal waveform at a certain frequency. These deviations can lead to disturbances, outages, lower power factor, or damages of electrical equipment connected to the grid.

It is essential to permanently track these parameters: starting during the development phase (of the electrical equipment), up until the live operation and beyond: e.g. continuous monitoring of a couple of points in the electrical grid in order to prevent and correct quality disturbances.

The Dewesoft solution can measure all these parameters according to the IEC 61000-4-30 Class A standard. In comparison to conventional power quality analyzers it’s possible to do more detailed analyses (e.g. raw data storing, behavior at faults, calculation of additional parameters, etc.).

Power Quality Overview

Dewesoft Power Quality Analyzer Highlights

The Dewesoft Power Quality Analyzer is a very flexible DAQ solution that combines power and energy loggers as well as several other measurement instruments into a single device. This has multiple advantages for the measurement process: 

  • Data synchronization: data is fully synchronized and compatible for comparison.
  • Raw data logging: raw data is always stored and can, therefore, be analyzed at any time in post-processing.
  • Easy to use: intuitive software that can perform all the measurement and analysis tasks, meaning the learning curve is much easier to master.
  • Low cost: a single instrument that can measure and analyze power parameters that would usually require multiple instruments will save space, time, and money. 


All of this combined makes the Dewesoft power quality analyzer an indispensable piece of equipment that acts as an arsenal of devices able to measure among others: 

  • Harmonics and THD up to 150 kHz
  • Interharmonics & higher frequencies
  • Flicker, Flicker Emissions, RVCs
  • FFT, Harmonic FFT, Waterfall FFT
  • Symmetrical components
Dewesoft Power Quality Analyzer Highlights

Power Quality Standards Overview

Our power quality meters fulfill all the requirements of power quality standards and can be used in a wide range of testing applications. The table below sums up the supported power quality standards:

IEC 61000-4-30
IEC 61000-4-7
IEC 61000-4-15

Requirements for Power Quality Analyzers, Calculation of Harmonics, Flicker, etc.

EN 50160
EN 50163
IEEE-519
IEC 61000-2-4  etc.

Power Quality limits of the public grid, industries, and railway applications.

IEC 61400-21
IEC 61400-12
FGW-TR3
BDEW
VDE-AR4105 etc.

Power quality analysis of renewable energy sources.

IEC 61000-3-3
IEC 61000-3-11

Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) of voltage changes and Flicker.

IEC 61000-3-2 IEC 61000-3-12

Electromagnetic compatibility (EMC) of harmonics current.

 

Power Quality Standards Overview

FFT Harmonics Analysis

Harmonics are integer multiples of the fundamental frequency (e.g. 50 Hz) and cause a distortion in voltage and current of the original waveform. Harmonic voltages and currents caused by non-sinusoidal loads can affect the operation and lifetime of electrical equipment and devices.

Harmonic frequencies in motors and generators can lead to increased heating (iron & copper losses), can affect torque (pulsating or reduced torque), create mechanical oscillations, and higher audible noise, which can cause aging of shaft, insulation and mechanical parts and reduce the efficiency.

Current harmonics in transformers increase copper and stray flux losses. Voltage harmonics increase iron losses. The losses are directly proportional to the frequency and, therefore, higher frequency harmonic components are more important than lower frequency components. Harmonics can also cause vibrations and higher noise. The effects of other electrical equipment and devices are very similar and are mainly reduced efficiency and lifetime, increased heating, malfunction or even unpredictable behavior.

Harmonics, Interharmonics and THD

The Dewesoft solution can measure harmonics for voltage, current and additional active and reactive power up to the 3000th order. All calculations are implemented according to IEC 61000-4-7 standards.

You can define the number of sidebands and half-bands for the harmonic order calculation. The higher frequency parts can be grouped in 200 Hz bands up to 150 kHz.

The calculation of THD (overall harmonic content) for voltage and current up to 3000th order and the interharmonics complete the analysis functionalities.

These powerful harmonic calculation functions offer analysis for all types of electrical equipment and devices.

Harmonics calculations

  • U, I, P, Q, and impedance

  • Individual setup of the number of harmonics including DC component (Example: 20 kHz sampling rate = 200 harmonics @ 50 Hz)

  • Harmonics up to 3000th order (@50 Hz)

  • Variable sidebands and half sidebands for Harmonics

  • Higher Frequencies up to 150 kHz in 200 Hz bands

  • Interharmonics, groups or single values

  • According to EN 61000-4-7

  • Calculation corrected to the actual real frequency

  • THD, THD even, THD odd

  • Trigger on each parameter

  • Background harmonics substraction

FFT Harmonics Analysis

Full FFT Frequency Spectrum Analysis

In addition to the FFT harmonics, a full frequency-based FFT analysis is available. All frequencies can be analyzed with this function Trigger on FFT patterns and offer definable filters:

  • hanning,
  • haming,
  • flat top,
  • rectangle,
  • etc.


You can find more information about Dewesoft FFT analyzer:

Full FFT Frequency Spectrum Analysis

FFT Waterfall Analysis

Besides the FFT and the harmonic FFT analysis, the Power Quality Analyzer also offers a 2D and 3D FFT waterfall analysis option.

This type of data visualization is especially useful for the analysis of variable drives. For example, looking at a run-up of an inverter, it is clearly visible how the harmonic sidebands originate as the frequency increases. The image depicts the runup of an inverter of a traction drive from 0 to 150 Hz.

The FFT waterfall visual display can be linear or logarithmic, 2D, or 3D and sorted by harmonic order or frequency.

FFT Waterfall Analysis
FFT Waterfall Analysis

Flicker Test and Flicker Emission Test

Flicker is a term used to describe fluctuations (repetitive variations) of the RMS voltage between two steady-state conditions. Flashing light bulbs are indicators for high flicker exposure. Flicker is especially present in grids with a low short-circuit resistance and is caused by the frequent connection and disconnection (e.g. heat pumps, rolling mills, etc.) of loads that affect the voltage.

A high level of flicker is perceived as psychologically irritating and can be harmful to humans.

The Dewesoft Power Quality analyzers offer the following features for flicker measurement:

  • Measure all flicker parameters according to the IEC 61000-4-15 standard.
  • Flicker emission calculation according to the IEC 61400-21 standard and allows the evaluation of flicker emission into the grid caused by wind power plants or other generation units.
  • PST and PLT with flexible intervals.
  • Individual recalculation intervals.
  • Pinst, dU, dUmax, dUduration
Flicker Test and Flicker Emission Test

Rapid Voltage Changes

Rapid Voltage Changes (RVCs) are parameters which are added as a supplement to the flicker standard. Dewesoft X data acquisition software calculates these parameters according to the IEC 61000-4-15 standard.

Rapid Voltage Changes describe any voltage fluctuations which change the voltage amplitude between two steady states more than 3% for a certain time interval. These voltage changes can be analyzed in post-processing using various parameters:

  • the depth of voltage change,
  • du, dmax, duduration,
  • steady-state deviation,
  • Etc.
Rapid Voltage Changes

Unbalance - Symmetrical Components

A balanced system has a 120° phase shift between the voltages and currents, and the voltages and currents have the same amplitude respectively. Unbalance happens when the 3 phase system is loaded unevenly, and the phases and magnitudes no longer correlate.

To analyze an unbalanced system, the symmetrical components calculation method is used. This method splits the original unbalanced 3 phase power system into a positive system (rotation like the original system), the negative system (rotation in the reverse direction), and a zero system.

An unbalanced system could cause current to flow in the neutral line, overheating electrical components, mechanical stress, increased vibration, and torque pulsation, low power quality, and energy losses among others.

Dewesoft’s Power Meters can measure over 50 parameters for a comprehensive analysis of an unbalanced system. These parameters include various calculations for voltage, current, active-, reactive-, apparent power as well as harmonics.

Unbalance - Symmetrical Components
Unbalance - Symmetrical Components

Frequency Deviations

The Dewesoft Power Analyzer can be used for frequency monitoring and testing frequency behavior of power generation units in the developmental stage (please see renewable energy testing).

High-frequency deviations from the fundamental frequency in public grids can have severe consequences. If the frequency drops or rises excessively there is a chance that the whole power system could collapse causing a blackout.

Frequency deviations in power grids are caused by the connection and disconnection of power generation plants or big loads. The grid becomes unstable if there is a deviation from the nominal frequency at which the grid operates. If the frequency is too high, there is too much power in the grid due to power oversupply. If the frequency is too low, there is too little power in the grid due to power undersupply. As renewable energies especially, wind and solar become more popular, grid stability is more at risk than ever. This is due to the fact that wind does not always blow at constant speeds and that sun energy gets impacted by clouds, shadows, and fluctuations in radiation intensity. This leads to abrupt deviations in the frequency at which power is delivered to the grid.

Frequency Deviations

FAQ

What is Power Quality?

The different Power Quality parameters describe the deviation of the voltage from its ideal sinusoidal waveform at a certain frequency. These deviations can lead to disturbances, outages or damages of electrical equipment connected to the grid. The main parameters that power quality focuses on are: harmonics, unbalance in electrical systems, flicker, Voltage changes, Voltage peaks, transient recording and  frequency behaviour.

What the Dewesoft Power Quality analyzer measures?

The Dewesoft Power Quality Analyzer can measure all these parameters according to the IEC 61000-4-30 Class A Standard. In comparison to conventional Power Quality Analyzers it’s possible to do more detailed analyses (e.g. raw data storing, behavior at faults, calculation of additional parameters etc.).

What are the Harmonics?

Harmonics are integer multiples of the fundamental frequency (e.g. 50 Hz for the grid in Europe) and cause a distortion in voltage and current of the original sinusoidal waveform. Harmonic voltages and currents caused by non-sinusoidal loads can affect the operation and lifetime of electrical equipment and devices. Harmonic frequencies in motors and generators can increase heating (iron & copper losses), can affect torque (pulsating or reduced torque), can create mechanical oscillations, and higher audible noise, it also causes aging of the shaft, insulation and mechanical parts and reduce the efficiency of the motor.

What is Total Harmonic Distortion (THD)?

The term THD stands for the ratio of the effective value of the sum of all harmonic components up to a specified order to the effective value of the fundamental component. In general, it is defined as the sum of all harmonics relative to the fundamental frequency. The Total Harmonic Distortion (THD) for voltage and current can be calculated up to the 3000th order. The most important origins of harmonics are loads that are controlled by converters (diodes, thyristors, transistors).

What is Total Harmonic Current (THC) and what current Total Demand Distortion (TDD)?

Total Harmonic Current (THC) is the accumulated currents of the orders 2 to 40 that contribute to the distortion of the current waveform, and the current Total Demand Distortion (TDD) is defined as the ratio of the root-sum-square values of the harmonic current to the maximum demand load current times 100 to get the result in a percentage.

What is Flicker?

Flicker is a term used to describe fluctuations (repetitive variations) of voltage. Flashing light bulbs are indicators of high flicker exposure. Flicker is especially present in grids with a low short-circuit resistance and is caused by the frequent connection and disconnection (e.g. heat pumps, rolling mills, etc.) of loads that affect the voltage. A high level of flicker is perceived as psychologically irritating and can be harmful to humans.

What are the Rapid Voltage Changes?

Rapid Voltage Changes are parameters which are added as a supplement to the flicker standard. Rapid Voltage Changes describe all voltage changes that change the voltage for more than 3% at a certain time interval. These voltage changes can afterward be analyzed with different parameters (depth of voltage change, duration, steady-state deviation, etc.).

Related Products

Talk to an Expert

Thanks for contacting us. One of our specialists will get in touch as soon as possible.