撰稿人 Carsten Frederiksen

并行的数据采集与控制

汽车和航空航天工业的制造商通常使用不同的数据采集仪器进行车载测试和试验台测试。感谢结合了两个数据总线(USB 和 EtherCAT®)的MTS,在 FlexTest ®系列控制器上实现了 EtherCAT® 通信,Dewesoft 数据采集系统为这两种情况提供了理想的解决方案。

Multi-axis test rig system schematics多轴试验台系统的原理图

同样的Dewesoft R8rt 数据采集系统 可用于:

  • 大通道测试台架的数据采集系统
  • 实时信号处理的道路载荷分析反馈(通过 EtherCAT)
  • 还可以作为一个小型的高性能移动数据记录器,用于车载数据采集

新的 FlexTest数字控制器软件支持 EtherCAT 通信。这为第三方数据源提供了更具性价比的、基于以太网的数字链路。增加的 EtherCAT 支持使 FlexTest 用户能够与数据采集系统建立数字通信。

SIRIUS DAQ 系统 已经应用于测试台仪器的许多信号调理应用中。但只作为一个前置放大器与 +-10 v 的模拟输出,这是用来作为控制器的模拟输入级的输入。

模拟数据直接转换到 SIRIUS 数据采集系统内部的 EtherCAT 总线,二级输入级现在可以完全移除。由于不需要额外的控制器模拟输入,这显著改善了用户体验。


在数据采集和测试台架控制器中使用了 EtherCAT 技术 从而消除了控制器附加模拟输入的需要

这是一个二合一的仪器。 R8rt DAQ 系统 可以方便地从数据采集柜中取出,也可以用作大通道和高速的车载数据采集器。

Dewesoft R8rt 数据采集系统可用作车载数据采集器或测试台上的负载反馈信号调理器,为测试台控制器提供实时数据流

这也大大降低了所需仪器的成本,并消除了布线的数量,这也间接地大大简化了配置设置。

Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition systemDewesoft R8rt 数据采集系统 - 可以配置多达8个 SIRIUS模拟放大器模块, 可以容易地从机柜中取出, 作为车载数据记录仪,用于道路载荷数据采集

此外,由于减少了电缆,硬件设置更加简单。从控制器到 R8rt 数据采集系统只需要一根电缆。通过屡获殊荣的 Dewesoft x 软件快速容易地设置放大器。

R8rt 系统可以在同一台仪器上提供高速(200k/s)和高分辨率(160db 动态范围)数据采集,用于测试台负载分析反馈。

高速数据采集和实时的EtherCAT© 输出

R8rt 数据采集系统包含8个 SIRIUS 放大器板卡,每个放大器板卡拥有8个高速模拟输入通道。它具有一个集成的工业级高性能 PC 计算机称为 SBOX 

配置具有,最多64通道 DualCoreADC (双24位)以及160分贝动态范围和最高可达128通道的 (单24位) ADC ,这一切都设计在一个紧凑的机箱中。

Dewesoft DualCoreADC® 技术带来的高达160dB的高动态范围的测量

该数据采集系统可用作车载数据采集器或试验台数据采集装置。Dewesoft X 软件运行在一个集成的,高性能的 SBOX PC 计算机中(具有英特尔 i7 CPU,高达1 TB SSD 硬盘,并集成100赫兹 GPS 接收器)。

Dewesoft 双模式

任何带有 EtherCAT 接口的SIRIUS 数据采集系统 都可以使用 EtherCAT 和 USB 接口向第三方控制系统提供实时数据,并向 Dewesoft X 软件提供全速数据。这使 SIRIUS 数据采集系统成为一种独特的仪器,既可以用于控制回路,又可以作为 DAQ 的记录设备,为客户节省了巨大的成本,并提供了对过程数据的详细记录。

典型的 Dewesoft 双模式应用包括:

  • 在测试台架上,SIRIUS作为一个模拟信号到EtherCAT®的接口,与第三方的EtherCAT®主机和DAQ设备通信,同时在 Dewesoft X 软件中记录数据
  • SIRIUS 作为 PLC 配置和状态监测设备中模拟信号到EtherCAT®的接口,在 Dewesoft x 软件中进行高频动态分析

随着新的EtherCAT 芯片组的加入,SIRIUS 数据采集板卡可以在EtherCAT 从机,与 USB 标准模式下并行操作。

SIRIUS dual-mode clocking diagramSIRIUS 双模式时钟图 (SM 同步)

EtherCAT协议是一种标准化的技术,它使来自不同供应商的硬件组合成为最终用户的整体解决方案。如果用户想要运行测试平台并用 Dewesoft X 软件并行地获取数据,那么 R8rt 数据采集需要由两个主系统来收集: 

  • The MTS FlexTest (EtherCAT 主机)  
  • 在 SBOX 计算机上运行的流式 Dewesoft x 软件

因此,除了 EtherCAT 之外,还需要一个额外的数据总线(USB)来将数据以高速率传输到软件。

这是通过以下方式实现的。SIRIUS 板卡上的AD转换器在Dewesoft X 软件中的设置的采样速率下运行。SIRIUS 固件实时将采样数据从ADC复制到以下两个位置:

  • 一个用于 USB 传输的数据缓冲区
  •  一个单独的 EtherCAT 总线缓冲区 

然后EtherCAT缓冲区每个通道只保存一个采样值,并不断更新最新的值。管理员可以随时获取最新的数据。

当EtherCAT缓冲区锁定并将数据复制到 EtherCAT 总线的确切时间由EtherCAT主机控制。在这种情况下,复制到 EtherCAT 总线的这些采样值之间的时间取决于 EtherCAT主机,可高达100µs。

系统设置

整体系统示意图见图1。测试装置执行器控制通过将模拟信号直接连接到柔性测试来完成。将用于样品负载分析反馈(RPC分析)的其余输入通道由R8rt DAQ系统获取并存储在SBOX计算机上。同样的数据也可实时用于EtherCAT总线,以及到测试台的实时控制器。
 
负载传感器和加速度计通常用于测量样品的响应。放大器的设置将在设备通道设置中完成,请参见图3。MTS HWI文件编辑器需要EtherCAT网络信息(ENI文件),才能将EtherCAT 从站添加到硬件配置中(图4)。ENI文件从Dewesoft X软件导出到MTS软件。

Dewesoft X 软件 – 通道设置
 

由于 EtherCAT总线带宽的优化,从R8rt DAQ 系统 发送的数据是原始的和未缩放的。比例因子从 Dewesoft 通道设置获得,并导出到一个文本文件,包含在 ENI 文件中,以便快速导入到 MTS 管理器。缩放的数据总是代表相同的值显示在 Dewesoft x 软件。如果在软件中应用了自定义缩放,那么在应用于原始数据时,缩放因子也会改变为给出相同的物理值。

 

MTS HWI 文件编辑器

多轴道路模拟器的RPC 驱动文件分析

应用 R8rt 数据采集系统在 MTS 道路模拟器上对轿车和卡车悬架系统的耐久性进行测试。它由4个角组成,每个角有6个自由度。MTS Flex Test控制器使用104个模拟量输入输出通道对执行器进行控制。

另外96个通道被用来测量试样的响应,将试验台上的荷载与实际道路荷载数据联系起来。这些信道的信号由两个 Dewesoft R8rt 数据采集系统采集,每个系统包括6个SIRIUS放大器板卡,并通过 EtherCAT 流到 FlexTest 控制器。

装有加速度计的台架的一角

我们已经完成了一个RPC分析测试的评估 ,从性能上比较基于数字 EtherCAT 数据传输的Dewesoft解决方案与传统的模拟型号解决方案。

三个三轴加速度计布置在设备的一个角上,输入通道分布在两个R8rt仪器之间。

运行一个典型的驱动文件,R8rt 数据采集系统记录响应。通过MTS RPC Pro 软件创建复制初始运行的新驱动器文件。结果表明,RPC Pro 在性能和收敛性方面与传统的模拟数据采集方法无明显差异。

安装 R8rt DAQ 系统后,大约节省了2公里昂贵的布线。

around two kilometers of black cable使用了Dewesoft R8rt 数据采集系统之后更换的MTS测试台架上的电缆

结论

多个供应商采用标准化技术总是可以为最终用户提供更好的解决方案。EtherCAT 技术允许与 MTS 控制系统有更多的连接,而并行的 EtherCAT/USB 技术允许用户使用相同的硬件完成完全不同的任务。用于连接 DAQ 系统和控制器的 EtherCAT 解决方案还可以节省数公里昂贵的模拟电缆,这些电缆被一根 CAT5电缆所替代。同时,RPC分析的性能与模拟前置放大器相当。

该系统的优势:

节约成本

  • 车载和试验台用的一体化仪器
  • 由于 EtherCAT 接口,第三方控制器不再需要模拟输入
  • 减少了数公里长的模拟电缆

减少时间

  • 易于配置 - 只有一条电缆从 DAQ 系统到控制器
  • 减少人为失误的几率

提高信号质量

  • 直接经过 EtherCAT 而不是模拟信号的方式将完美的信号调理传输到测试台控制器

分析测试台架控制器的数据

  • 通过 EtherCAT 传输到控制器的数据也可以并行地记录在 Dewesoft X 软件中(双模式技术)

Data Acquisition and Control in parallel

Manufacturers in the automotive and aerospace industry typically use different data acquisition instrumentation for in-vehicle and test bench testing. However, thanks to combining two data buses (USB and EtherCAT®) and MTS implementing the EtherCAT® communication on the FlexTest® series controllers, the Dewesoft data acquisition systems offer an ideal solution for both scenarios. 

Multi-axis test rig system schematics

The same Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition system can be used as:

  • A high-channel-count test bench data acquisition system
  • Real-time signal processing for road load analysis feedback (over EtherCAT) 
  • Can also function as a compact size high-performance mobile data logger for in-vehicle data acquisition use.

The new FlexTest digital controller software features support for EtherCAT communication. This offers a more cost-effective, ethernet-based digital link to third party sources of data. The added EtherCAT support enables FlexTest users to establish digital communication with data acquisition systems.

SIRIUS DAQ systems have already been used in many signal conditioning applications for test bench instrumentation. But only as a preamplifier with analog output of +-10 V which was used as an input to the controller analog input stage.

The secondary input stage can now be completely removed thanks to the direct conversion of analog data to EtherCAT bus inside the SIRIUS data acquisition systems. This significantly improves the user experience since there is no need for the additional controller analog inputs. 


The use of od EtherCAT technology in data acquisition and test bench controller has removed the need of additional analog input stage at the controller side

It is a 2-in-1 instrument. The R8rt DAQ system can easily be taken out of the cabinet and also used as high-channel-count and high-speed in-vehicle data logger. 

The Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition system can be used as a in-vehicle data logger or a signal conditioner on a test bench for load analysis feedback and for providing real-time data streams to the test bench controller

This also vastly reduces the cost of required instrumentation and removes kilometers of cabling which indirectly also significantly simplifies the configuration setup.

The Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition system - can be configured with up to eight SIRIUS analog amplifier slices, and easily taken out of the cabinet and used as an in-vehicle data logger for road load data acquisition

Furthermore, the hardware setup is much simpler due to reduced cabling. Only a single cable is required from the controller to the R8rt data acquisition system. And award-winning Dewesoft X software makes it fast and easy to set up the amplifiers.

R8rt system delivers high-speed (200 kS/s) and high-resolution (160 dB dynamic range) data acquisition in the same instrument that is used for the test bench load analysis feedback.

High-speed data acquisition and real-time EtherCAT© output

R8rt data acquisition system combines 8 SIRIUS amplifier slices, each holding 8 high-speed analog input channels. It features integrated industrial-grade high-performance PC computer called SBOX

All this in a compact chassis design featuring up to 64 DualCoreADC© (dual 24-bit) channels with 160 dB dynamic range of up to 128 channels in single-ADC (24 bit) configuration.

Dewesoft DualCoreADC® technology brings high dynamic range measurements of up to 160 dB

The DAQ system can be used as an all-round data logger for in-vehicle use or a test bench data acquisition device. Dewesoft X software is running on an integrated, high-performance SBOX PC computer featuring Intel i7 CPU, up to 1 TB SSD drive, and integrated 100 Hz GPS receiver).

Dewesoft Dual Mode

Any SIRIUS data acquisition system equipped with an EtherCAT interface can use EtherCAT and USB interfaces to provide real-time data to a 3rd party control system and full-speed data to Dewesoft X software in parallel. This makes the SIRIUS data acquisition systems a unique instrument that can be used in the control loop and as a DAQ recording device at the same time, saving an enormous cost for the customer and providing detailed insight into the process data.

Typical Dewesoft Dual Mode applications include:

  • SIRIUS as an analog-to-EtherCAT® interface on a test bench with 3rd party EtherCAT® master and DAQ device for recording the data in Dewesoft X software
  • SIRIUS as an analog-to-EtherCAT® interface in a PLC configuration and condition monitoring device with high-frequency dynamic analysis in Dewesoft X software

With the latest addition of EtherCAT chipset, the SIRIUS data acquisition slices behave as EtherCAT slaves in parallel to the standard operation in the USB mode.

SIRIUS dual-mode clocking diagram (SM sync)

EtherCAT protocol is a standardized technology and enables hardware combinations from different vendors in the overall solution for the end-user. If the user wants to run the test bench and acquire data with Dewesoft X software in parallel, the data from the R8rt data acquisition needs to be collected by two master systems:

  • The MTS FlexTest (EtherCAT master) and 
  • Streamed Dewesoft X software on the SBOX computer

Therefore, an additional data bus is needed (USB) besides the EtherCAT to transfer the data at a high-rate to the software.

This is achieved in the following manner. AD converters on the SIRIUS slices run with the acquisition rate set in the Dewesoft X software. SIRIUS firmware copies the sampled data from ADC in real-time to two locations:

  • a buffer for USB transfer and
  • a separate buffer for EtherCAT bus. 

The EtherCAT buffer then only holds one sample per channel and is constantly updated with the latest values. EtherCAT master can collect the most recent data at any time.

The exact moment when the EtherCAT buffer is latched and the data copied to the EtherCAT bus is controlled by the EtherCAT master. In this case, the time between those samples copied to EtherCAT bus depends on the EtherCAT master jitter which can be up to 100 µs.

System setup

The overall system schematic is shown in figure 1. Test rig actuator control is done with the analog signals connected straight to the FlexTest. The rest of the input channels that are used for load analysis feedback on the specimen (RPC analysis) are acquired by the R8rt DAQ system and stored on the SBOX computer. The same data is also available in real-time to the EtherCAT bus and onwards to a real-time controller of the test bench.
 
Load cells and accelerometers are typically used to measure the response of the specimen. The setup of the amplifiers is done in Device Channels Setup, see Figure 3. The EtherCAT Network Information (ENI file) is required by MTS HWI File Editor to be able to add EtherCAT slaves to the hardware configuration (Figure 4). The ENI file is exported from Dewesoft X software to the MTS software.

Dewesoft X software – channel setup
 
Due to the EtherCAT bus bandwidth optimization, the data from the R8rt DAQ system sent over EtherCAT is raw and unscaled. Scaling factors are obtained from Dewesoft Channels Setup and are exported to a text file and included in the ENI file for quick import to the MTS Station Manager. The scaled data always represents the same value as displayed in the Dewesoft X software. If the custom scaling is applied in the software, the scaling factor will also change to give the same physical values when applied to the raw data.

MTS HWI File Editor

RPC drive file analysis on a multi-axis road simulator

This application with the R8rt data acquisition system was done on an MTS road simulator for testing the durability of car and truck suspension systems. It consists of 4 corners, each having 6 degrees of freedom. 104 analog input and output channels were used by MTS FlexTest controller for actuator control. 

Additional 96 channels were used for measuring the response of the specimen to correlate the loads on the test bench to the real road load data. Signals from those channels were acquired by two Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition systems - each including 6 SIRIUS amplifier slices and streamed over EtherCAT to the FlexTest controller.

One corner of the rig equipped with accelerometers

We have performed an evaluation RPC analysis test to compare the performance of the Dewesoft’s solution with digital EtherCAT data transmission to an analog solution used on such rigs traditionally.

Three 3-axial accelerometers were placed on one corner of the rig with input channels distributed between both R8rt instruments. 

An exemplary drive file was played out on the corner and the response recorded by the R8rt DAQ systems. MTS RPC Pro software was used to create a new drive file that replicated the initial run. The results showed there was no difference in the performance and convergence of the RPC Pro compared to the classical analog data acquisition.

Around 2 kilometers of expensive cabling was saved after installing the R8rt DAQ systems.

Amount of cabling replaced on the MTS test bench by utilizing Dewesoft R8rt data acquisition system

Conclusion

Standardized technology adapted by multiple vendors always opens up better solutions for the end-users. EtherCAT technology allows more connectivity with the MTS control system while the parallel EtherCAT/USB technology allows the user to use the same hardware for completely different tasks. EtherCAT solution for connecting the DAQ system with the controller can also save kilometers of expensive analog cables that are replaced by a single CAT5 cable. At the same time, the performance of the RPC analysis is the same as with the analog preamplifiers.

Complete list of the benefits of such a system:

SAVE MONEY

  • an all-in-one instrument for in-vehicle and test bench use
  • no analog input stage needed on a 3rd party controller due to EtherCAT interface
  • reduces kilometers of analog cables

SAVE TIME

  • easy to configure - only a single cable from DAQ system to the controller
  • less chance for human errors

IMPROVE SIGNAL QUALITY

  • perfectly conditioned signals transmitted to the test bench controller directly over EtherCAT instead of in an analog way

ANALYZE TEST BENCH CONTROL DATA

  • data transferred over EtherCAT to the controller can also be recorded in Dewesoft X software in parallel (Dual Mode technology)